Can you guess what this is? Part 3


Another still life macro shot: this is one of my all-time favorite photos and it’s framed and proudly hangs in my now quite fancy garage (just like the image of the scouring pad).
To continue from yesterday’s post about my garage project: After I etched the floor, I let it “breathe” for a couple of days leaving the garage door partially open. Then I went on to the job of actually painting the floor which was MUCH easier than doing the mechanics of the preparation process. First, I put down a coat of primer. Very important to do and some people make the mistake of skipping this step to save a few dollars. Wrong! The primer is what bonds the topcoat to the concrete, and if it’s not done, then the paint will eventually start peeling. I “rolled out” most of the primer, meaning I used a roller connected to a long handle and just painted the floor standing up. Not too hard. I only used an actual paint brush to do the edges where the floor meets a 4 inch concrete border that skirts the perimeter of the garage interior, and of course I used the brush to prime the border too.

Next I let the primer set for a few days. It’s important to note that it doesn’t actually dry completely to the touch, but instead remains tacky. Yes, it’s supposed to be that way. No, I didn’t realize that at first and kept waking up in the middle of the night (lol) to check if the floor was no longer sticky to the touch. Finally, after doing some on-line research, I figured it out, and then proceeded to apply 2 coats of epoxy paint using the same method as I did for priming the floor. I let the floor dry completely between applications of the topcoat which added another couple of days work, so at this point I was nearing the end of the second week of the project.

Once the floor was painted, I waited several days before returning all the contents back into the garage, as nothing heavy could be placed on the floor for at least 72 hours after the painting was completed. During this time, I scrubbed & scoured all the containers, cabinets and shelves that were sitting in the living room. I completely emptied out my toolbox, cleaned it and then put back every nail, screw and bolt in an organized pattern. At this point, it’s likely that the inhalation of chemical fumes used to prep and paint the floor had affected my brain. Add to that the stress I was feeling to complete this project successfully and with no help from anyone. And I was hurting all over – hands, arms, wrists, ankles, feet, legs and back were all sore from days of attacking what I have now come to view as a monumental task. All told, I was reaching the end of my rope, but I could see light at the end of the tunnel …..
Back to the photo – can you guess what it is?

EDIT: It’s a snow brush for my car. So if you guessed that it was some type of brush, you were close.

7 thoughts on “Can you guess what this is? Part 3

    • Well, you’re close! It’s a snow brush for my car. I was out taking nature shots one day and noticed it in the backseat of the car. The light was hitting the bristles in just the right way, so I am I had the camera with me. And I just might have a photo of my garage to post 🙂

  1. Yep looks like a hairbrush to me. Another fabulous photo! Love the way the lights play around. Now I am wanting to buy a macro lens:)

    You are a brave woman to try to tackle your garage all by yourself! Hopefully you will post some photos.

  2. Pingback: My garage … let me show it to you. « A matter of how you see it

Leave a Reply

